PDA

View Full Version : Soccer Fields

Diggerlou
08-01-2012, 07:55 PM
I am wanting to hunt some soccer fields but do not know much about hunting those. How do you hunt them? i.e. in the playing area? Sidelines? Both, I think. Sounds crazy, but I'm new at this...... Any suggestions??

Tony Two-Cent
08-01-2012, 08:54 PM
Welcome to American Detectorist, Diggerlou! Glad to have you here!

That's actually a very good question, and you will likely get many different responses. Hunting on sporting fields can be a touchy subject. I personally don't hunt on the playing area of any sports fields that are on a high school or college property, as it is often frowned upon by the coaching staff and school administration. I also don't hunt on any public playing field that is well manicured and often used. No matter how careful you are about digging, people are always concerned about unsightly and hazardous holes.

I have occasionally hunted in the outfield of a seldom-used baseball field in the late fall or winter. I've never encountered any objections to that, as any plugs will most likely be 100% healed by springtime.

A detectorist always has to be aware of public perceptions. If you are hunting on the playing area of a sports field then there is always going to be the possibility that someone will object, no matter how carefully you dig.

JTGOLD
08-02-2012, 07:53 AM
I think Tony said it all,but I might add, talk to the grounds keeper of the field you would like to hunt and see what he or she would say about hunting it.

tanacat
08-02-2012, 10:19 AM
Yeah, Tony explained it great |:cheering: I'm not usually drawn to places where people play sports. I figure they have their valuables stashed away while they play lol Prob no pockets of change if they are playing 'professionally' with their pocketless shorts... but then there are probably lots of broken necklaces and rings... :thinkingabout: