PDA

View Full Version : WET CELLAR HOLE HUNT WITH SNIFFY*BAT WING BUCKLE

HEAVYMETALNUT
03-29-2010, 07:20 PM
Jesse had no work due to the rain and i hadda twist his arm to go play in the water.and that's exactly what we did! :twirlingeyes: >:\
hit one site near a road and i got a large tombac alot of newer trash there and we may return but we were anxious to get up to the old site where he found his capped bust dime,KG, 1827 large cent and my 2 coppers.quite a few buttons today... a smaller tombac,some small flat one piece buttons and a nice small one piece with a cool motiff on it. no Large coppers for me :crying02: but sniffy will post what he found.
i dug my very first bat wing buckle and after a drenched day walking the trail out i got a mercury spill.jess helped me out and he dug a merc and a silver war nickel. then further up trail almost out of the woods i got a large bent cloak button.straightened it out the best i could.
the brush in pic is what i use to clean my buttons.you can see how nice it cleans up a tombac half done to show you.
not a bad wet day and happy to add this buckle to my collection thumbsup01 have a great week all! ;)
DAN!!!!! this is the site i was tellin you about the trenched well.i included pics so you can see what i mean.
WOO HOO 4 OX KNOBS NOW!!!!! my first octagon headed one today!

HEAVYMETALNUT
03-29-2010, 07:22 PM
more pics

HEAVYMETALNUT
03-29-2010, 07:23 PM
last pics

angellionel
03-29-2010, 08:54 PM
Wow! Those are some sweet finds there Dave. You had a very good hunt. :yes:

coinnut
03-29-2010, 09:04 PM
What no coppers? :bop: :bop: There, now don't make me do that again lol Nice silver spill. Can't make out the dates but most look like the 40's? Nice batwing buckle thumbsup01 They are different than the common colonial buckles. I believe they are older too. Glad you guys got out. I had to work, but I may not have went out today even if I didn't have to work lol That site has potential for sure.

sniffy
03-29-2010, 09:19 PM