PDA

View Full Version : Hello from Aurora, Colorado

anvilmanco
12-24-2012, 06:12 PM
Tony Two Cent metioned this Forum so I checked it out and liked what I saw. I spend a lot of time on one of the other Forums (where I met Tony) , but it's always nice to have at least one more go to spots for sharing and new ideas.

I've been loving and active in Metal Detecting off & on for over 30 years. I built my first Detector from a HEATH KIT ( a lot of you puppies never heard of them) back in the late 70's, if I can remember that far back. I was still living in Lincoln, Illinois then. Pretty exciting since I'm red-green color blind. But, I had my kids sort all the colored resistors, and parts, etc and i labeled them and got it done. Only had one Red and Green wire mixed and once that was found I was off and running. The coil on that thing was the size of a pizza pan. I wish I still had it for nostagia purposes. Some of my best finds were with that thing. Once, I found 2 standing liberty silver halves about 6 feet apart. Thought I would die of excitement. Then I bought a couple Garrett Groundhogs and enjoyed the heck out of them.

I then moved to Aurora, CO in 1987 and life got in the way and the MD's sat for a few years. I'm back at it big time for the last couple years and have purchased a Fisher F-2 last spring and just got a GARRETT AT PRO a few weeks ago. I promptly broke my arm 2 days after getting the AT PRO, so I haven't even used it yet. Can't wait to get healed and get after it soon.

We're hoping to take about a 3 month trip from Colorado, across the Gulf Of Mexico state, to Florida and then back through the Mid West in early Spring. So, I hope to get in a lot of beach hunting and maybe dig that beautiful black Mid West soil again.

Glad to be here.

Keith

del
12-24-2012, 06:58 PM