PDA

View Full Version : Best Detector for a Newbie

Wilybuck
01-07-2013, 10:25 AM
I am really new to this hobby having only owner a cheap walmart special metal detector. I have gotten hooked on this hobby and would like to know what the best detector to obtain would be. I have several early 1900 houses and deserted railroad towns that I have permission to hunt. most are just cellars and foundations and don't know what kind of detector and/or equipment i should purchase. Any and all help, comments, suggestions would be greatly appreciated

nicklehead
01-07-2013, 10:42 AM
What a loaded question! You'll get a dozen different opinions on a bad day.
Budget will be the biggest question to answer. I have two friends that have gotten solid deal on craigslist for MXT's @ $300 with extra coils and there's nothing wrong with that altough I'd opt for the MXT PRO.

From what I've been learning I think the best value might be the AT Pro. Alot of potential for $600.

Tony Two-Cent
01-07-2013, 10:44 AM
Welcome to the forum, Wilybuck! Glad to have you here! We would certainly be glad to help you any way we can.

What is your budget range? You can get a basic entry level machine for $100, or a nicer used detector for around $200, or a new mid-level machine for $300-500, or a more advanced machine for $600-$2300 and up. What is your budget range?

It seems that many people get a Garrett Ace 250 or Ace 350 when they are ready to upgrade to an affordable mid-level machine. Many of our members here have success with those models. Of course there are other options as well.

We can try to steer you in the right direction and give you some options on detectors. I went through the same thing a couple of years ago when I was getting back into the hobby and looking for a new detector. Lots of confusing information on the internet!

Wilybuck
01-07-2013, 12:22 PM