PDA

View Full Version : silver?

harvey261
02-18-2013, 11:07 PM
HI! im clint and im new to this metal detecting but i think i have a pretty decent spot. I started this coin shooting? this month with an ace 350 and im addicted! I did my research and realized i had a local early settlement on property that has likely never been hunted! Its in a woods and there is an old barn there. I am finding really old coins. Two 1912 wheats and 2 1853 large cents but only one silver and it was a merc. Question... where is the old silver and indian pennies? Any tips on pulling silver from this area? would my ace 350 find it if it were there?

POKIE73
02-19-2013, 07:10 AM
silver should be there just try to imagine where people would have been around their where did they congrgate anytime you find older pennies that a good sign good luck with your new hobby also your ace 350 is a good machine to start with i would bet before the summer is over you will be looking to upgrade that is the curse of this hobby good luck dennis

aloldstuff
02-19-2013, 08:08 AM
Pokie gave you some good advice. If you're finding early wheats and LC's then silver should be there. How long have you been detecting? I use a V3i and for the past 2+ years I am still learning this machine. Every year the finds get better.

Tony Two-Cent
02-19-2013, 09:56 AM
Hi Clint! Welcome to the forum! :waving:

I have found that some old sites don't have much silver. You just never know. If there is silver your Ace 350 would definitely find it. It is a very capable and well-respected machine.

However, if you're finding wheat cents and large cents then there should be some indian heads there as well. Just swing slow and listen for feint but consistent tones.

Best of luck! Keep us updated on your finds!

harvey261
02-19-2013, 12:06 PM