PDA

View Full Version : Cracker Jack Token/Coin

Chas61
04-06-2013, 12:28 AM
I am very new to this hobby and today I found a small piece of Americana. It is a coin featuring former Pres. Grover Cleveland. It was manufactured by the Cracker Jack Company in the 30's. It was the prize in the box and a way to gain entrance into the Cracker Jack Mystery Club. I don't think it is worth anything it is made of aluminum. But it made my day.

POKIE73
04-06-2013, 04:57 AM
thats still a great find then if you are happy with it congrats on your find dennis ps its the unusual finds that i like the most

aloldstuff
04-06-2013, 07:44 AM
:congrats: on the find, as Dennis said those are the cool finds that keep this hobby exciting.

Skamaniac
04-06-2013, 02:30 PM
Worth is not only in the eye of the beholder, but also the hand of the holder. I love finding bits of history like that! Nice find. (I remember when Cracker Jack had COOL prizes instead of the paper junk they have now. As a kid I loved to get a whistle. My mom, not so much.)

ChrisinCT
04-07-2013, 12:31 AM
I love finding stuff like that. Ill take that over a silver Rosie or merc any day.

To me that kind of stuff makes for a much better display case of finds. They add interest.

There's millions of dimes but how often will you find a Cracker Jack token?

Nice find

OxShoeDrew
04-12-2013, 07:49 PM
Hey, that was a Crackerjack find. :grin:

DIGGER27
04-15-2013, 09:46 AM
I also love these type of finds the best.
We are digging history, after all.

Last year I dug this small little thing that was pretty much smashed flat, when I unfolded it it was small but very cute.
After doing some research I discovered this was a Cracker jack to that was put in their boxes from the late 20's to the early 30's.