PDA

View Full Version : They Call me Gabby

gabby
05-07-2013, 10:19 AM
Hi
They call me Gabby and I've been detecting for about 6 years now.
I own a few different detectors, but my main one is the V3i.
I live in the middle of Canada in the province of Sask.
I'm semi-retired and am an electronics tech by trade.
I never really considered joining this forum being Canadian but thought I'd git it a shot and have a look around.

Tony Two-Cent
05-07-2013, 10:30 AM
We're glad you joined the forum, Gabby! Everyone is welcome here, especially our friends to the north. <;)

A very good friend of mine lives way up in Grande Prairie, Alberta and he was commenting how they had a blizzard last week but temperatures near 80 degrees F this week. I hope you are enjoying nice weather there in SK as well.

We are looking forward to your participation on the forum, and hearing about your finds. :yes:

nicklehead
05-07-2013, 10:46 AM
I had my doubts about joining too Gabby since most of the people here are yankees but it's been okay so far. :) Now I have a beef with you Canadians since one of your quarters broke my e-trac. I was using a Canadian quarter the other day to do some testing in a park and couldn't pick it up for my life--what the heck? The pattern I was using was discriminating it out--turns out they're 94% steel--who'd a thunk? :)
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Quarter_(Canadian_coin)

gabby
05-07-2013, 12:19 PM
Yup that is our Canadian clad.
If you want to get it a person must turn off discrimination for the most part.
The nice part is our $1 and $2 coins.
They can add up in a hurry.
Everything else is pretty much iron.
Also on the plus side is they have eliminated our pennies so I won't have to waste my time and effort on those pesky coins.

OxShoeDrew
05-07-2013, 01:06 PM
Yeah, I think our forum name is misleading as we have members from all over the world.
I hope you like it here and look forward to your posts, Drew

del
05-07-2013, 07:17 PM