PDA

View Full Version : deep silver program

zrickkid
04-24-2010, 11:04 PM
Can anyone with a V3 tell me how the deep silver program is supposed to work. Im tired of digging clad coins from the top layers of the ground. The first ones were cool but after about 100 of them it gets kind of old. I really have no idea how my machine is supposed to work. The manual is so confusing and im an engineer so i feel a bit embarassed! I need to know how to set the controls to better pinpoint my searches. The unit seems to make all sorts of noise and beeps relentlessly and it is so hard to not let frustration get to me. Is there really that much crap in the ground? or do I need to set it up in a way that is more effective. The deepest and oldest coin I have dug was a 1929 D wheatie at about 5 inches in depth. Please give me some help or some good tips if you guys can. Thanks Zrickkid.

toehead
04-24-2010, 11:18 PM
Sorry I don't own a v3 so I can't comment on that part of it. However, yes there can be that much junk in the ground! Don't know about the deep silver program on the v3, but many didn't like the deep silver program on the DFX. Oh an welcome aboard!! :yes:

The Beep Goes On
04-24-2010, 11:38 PM
I have one and it works well, but there are about 500 settings, so it pays to learn at least what each group of settings does. Here's a spreadsheet that has all the settings definitions (in a comment for each setting) and programs in a more readable format than the manual.

From what I recall, the DS program only accepts VDI 60 and above, so it should have been pretty quiet. My guess would be that you might have it set too hot and you're falsing, there's EMI in the area you're hunting or you have really bad ground. You can use the Ground Probe feature to check your environment.

The many settings in the V are its greatest strength and its greatest weakness.

http://www.thebeepgoeson.com/display.asp?page=Program_SS

HH!
Beep