PDA

View Full Version : Question on mxt pro?

Treasureman25
05-30-2013, 12:26 PM
Hi im new to detecting. Well the new detectors that is. I've used an old coinmaster 6000 before but now want to upgrade. I am going to place an order for the mxt pro soon. I've decided I want to get the 9.5 coil for the trashy areas. Now here's my question. I plan on hunting some caches, hoards, ect. I want to read as deep as possible into the ground. I'm seeing that I can get a 21x17sef coil compatable with the mxt pro. I've been unable to find anyone or really any good info on this coil setup with the mxt pro. What can you tell me about it? Also while using a coil like this will I still be able to see coins say in the first 5 or 8 inches of soil?

P.s. I'm from Wi where we obviously get a lot of frost in the winter. Some are trying to tell me any jars of coins or bigger items will be pushed up closer to the surface over time. Have you ever heard this?

Boulder
06-21-2013, 01:59 PM
Hello,

I have a VX3 with a Detech V-Rated 15x12 SEF Butterfly Search coil, and let me tell you it is BIG, not heavy just BIG.

The price point is very good, under $200 delivered.

I would imagine that the size coil your talking about is around $300. For that dollar amount you should consider getting two coils, the 2nd being a White's Eclipse Shooter DD 4 x 6 Search Coil or similar for tree roots and shrubs.

Just something to think about, I'm sure some of the more seasoned members can give you other thoughts and options.

Best of luck on whatever you choose, John. thumbsup01

Thiltzy
06-21-2013, 02:09 PM
How deep do you need to go?

Lowjiber
06-22-2013, 07:12 AM
P.s. I'm from Wi where we obviously get a lot of frost in the winter. Some are trying to tell me any jars of coins or bigger items will be pushed up closer to the surface over time. Have you ever heard this?