PDA

View Full Version : New cellar hole site.Lots of Iron,but some goodies too.

CTX Tom
07-14-2013, 04:51 PM
Hi all,
A friend of mine took me to his deer hunting site which is full of cellar holes!It doesn't appear to have been hit by other detectors(no Iron piles,so my fingers are crossed!)We found a few decent Iron items,and this place is choked with iron.So I'm hoping to hit this place and find some nice items which I feel are there,I just gotta find em!Im not very good at aging a site,so if anyone could give me some ideas on how old this place may be by looking at the finds please do so!Also the one photo is of a bear track that was near the site.HH Tom

del
07-14-2013, 04:55 PM
hey Tom that place will open out a lot in the fall , the iron relics don't appear to be real old , does the inkwell have anykind of pontil scar on the bottom ??

coinnut
07-14-2013, 05:01 PM
What do you think Dan - @1860's so far? But some real nice items. The ink well will date that site better than the other iron finds. I hope you have a chance to get back there for some more finds.

HEAVYMETALNUT
07-14-2013, 05:24 PM
i never dug a full iron just the bases.that'll look nice on a shelf all cleaned up! good luck on return visits

CTX Tom
07-14-2013, 05:25 PM
Del,
The inkwell was found by my friend,so he has it at his place.I will give him a call when he becomes available.Im going to try and get back there as soon as I can.Im hoping a couple generations lived there.Lots of apple trees nearby,a spring ect.Looks pretty promising.Just gotta find the buttons and coins!

del
07-14-2013, 05:40 PM