PDA

View Full Version : Old home site hunting

KCFindIt
12-06-2013, 09:17 PM
I'm new at MD'ing, so I'm throwing this out there in hopes someone can give me pointers. A landowner has given me permission to hunt and told me there used to be houses long long ago (and he pointed to a general area). Hovering over the ground in the area pointed out, the detector goes crazy and I have unearthed a ton of old iron (pipe pieces, straps, implement tines, etc). It seems as if it was not only an old homesite, but perhaps their dump site. What is the best way to identify and find the "right" place on a 40 acre piece of open land to locate anything good? Any ideas would be helpful.
Thank you,
Kasey

Full Metal Digger
12-06-2013, 09:34 PM
I recommend you go online and search for old maps or aerial photographs of that property. It will help considerably. I use this method a lot to figure out which part of a cornfield the old house or school once sat. Best wishes and HH, Dave.

coinnut
12-06-2013, 09:54 PM
You are probably in the right area and may be nearer the barn area, which should be close to the home. Being new I would approach it from a backwards perspective. Instead of starting out in the iron patch, go out until you get relatively few signals and work inward. First time through take only the very good to nearly very good signals. Don't worry about working every signal. In other words cherry pick the good targets. I'm not sure what machine you are using so I can't help you on what to dig, but try for the solid hits first.

KCFindIt
12-06-2013, 10:06 PM
Coinnut, I'm using the Teknetics Delta 4000, so I can disc. out the iron, but I fear that I could be missing something when I do that. I have had a few solid 88 and 94 hits, but it ended up being an old sardine can and a round lid, both about 6 inches deep.

Digger Don
12-06-2013, 10:25 PM