PDA

View Full Version : please help me clean my first finds electrolysis or not

driley
01-02-2014, 02:50 PM
Good afternoon everyone I am new at metal detecting I was able to get out to a site that looked very promising well it was I found 2 silver spoons an axe head a few iron tools an old padlock that's about 6 inches by 4 inches and an old bell and part of a belt buckle a lead figurine and best was a clay smoking pipe while recovering the bell I have been looking at electrolysis I watched a few videos of guys doing it with a car battery charger in a 5 gallon bucket does anyone have any suggestions I don't want to ruin the bell I am posting this from my phone so it won't let me upload any pictures as soon as I can get to my computer I will post pictures PS my detector was still going hat wire as I was leaving the site but the sun was down and no flash light all items are very badly corroded

coinnut
01-02-2014, 02:53 PM
Well take your time and don't rush cleaning anything. When you can post some pictures, everyone can have a look at each item individually. Every relic must be looked over to see what its made of, how damaged it is, and what the best course of action is. The key is not to rush anything.

Mayadigger
01-03-2014, 05:13 PM
Ave driley!

"I have been looking at electrolysis I watched a few videos of guys doing it with a car battery charger in a 5 gallon bucket"

No, no, no, no...! Do Not use electrolysis until you know what your doing, my friend, trust me - especially with a car battery charger in a 5 gallon bucket! I shudder at the thought -

Electrolysis, or 'zapping' can be your best friend...or your worst nightmare. Please post photos of what you're considering to 'zap'. I can help.

Best regards,

Kevin

driley
01-04-2014, 03:57 PM