PDA

View Full Version : some electrolysis on a few iron relics

HEAVYMETALNUT
02-03-2014, 10:39 AM
I have a 5 gallon bucket of some relics that I have been saving.finally made the effort to go buy a used battery charger up at the pawn shop and get some done.
below are the results.I'm no pro at this just a beginner but,I think they came out ok.

Skamaniac
02-03-2014, 02:20 PM
Looks good! I made one last year but I made it too big I think. I'm going to make a smaller one for smaller items. The old battery chargers definitely work better than the new ones with all the electronic safety features. How long was the active bath for each of the items?

RobW
02-03-2014, 03:31 PM
:shocked03:...That's a big difference. They look great! Are you going to coat them in anything to keep them from rusting up again? If so, what?
I'd love to give that a try, but me and electricity don't match up:mad::mad:

freemindstuck
02-03-2014, 04:03 PM
Pretty neat! Did you uncover any makers marks?

HEAVYMETALNUT
02-03-2014, 04:14 PM
thanks! i coated them with WD-40 wiped em down then clear polyurethane.hope they hold up!

del
02-03-2014, 04:52 PM
not a bad Job Dave , I can mail you all my iron to do up :yes:

I'd love to give that a try, but me and electricity don't match up:mad::mad:

I thought it was just you and cameras ;)

HEAVYMETALNUT
02-03-2014, 05:42 PM
[QUOTE=del;155479]not a bad Job Dave , I can mail you all my iron to do up :yes:

should i be looking for a 40 foot trailer truck to be pulling up?

Lodge Scent
02-03-2014, 06:49 PM
Nice work! I need to move up from my current phone charger system to something like that.

coinnut
02-04-2014, 08:25 AM
Did you enjoy the fumes?:lol: I hope you weren't cooped up with them while cleaning them. I hear that hydrogen, as well as chromium gas is produced. Here is a short video on it. Nice to see the artifacts cleaned up a bit.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O7gsqyL35xA

RobW
02-04-2014, 09:25 AM
I thought it was just you and cameras ;)