PDA

View Full Version : Knocking on doors

MIKE54
03-10-2014, 03:47 PM
Just wondering how you guys present yourselves and ask permission when knocking on random doors to gain access to someone's yard to detect ? I've never done it before but the time has come to start. Any pointers will be welcome.

Full Metal Digger
03-10-2014, 04:33 PM
It is definitely an acquired skill! I keep it simple and direct. I make sure I look the homeowner straight in the eye the whole time I am talking. Remember, you are making a sales pitch so be energetic and smile (like a politician does). I say "Hi, my name is (say your name) and I live in (say your town). I have a metal detector and my hobby is searching for old coins, buttons and bullets. I can usually find one or two old coins at old houses such as yours. May I have your permission to search your yard with my metal detector?" Some hints: DO NOT mention digging and don't have your gear with you when you ask. Be prepared to search immediately as most folks change their mind later. If you are asked about digging, say you make a small slit in the grass and retrieve the coin, putting the grass back exactly like you found it. Be prepared to give a demonstration if asked to. If you get the old "what's in it for me" from the homeowner, say you'll split the finds with him. (I always think "you get the wheaties and I get the silvers" LOL). They usually say don't worry about it after you say you'll split with them. Good luck!

slvrsrchr
03-10-2014, 06:03 PM
daddydigger, i have also wondered exactly what to say, thanks for the tip on how to approach a homeowner......appreciated! Also, not to hijack the thread, but hope to see some of your videos again on youtube soon!

Digger Don
03-10-2014, 07:38 PM
Just remember, the worst that can happen is they say no.
Thank them for their time and on to the next one.

KCFindIt
03-10-2014, 08:23 PM