PDA

View Full Version : New to forum

Sam
08-04-2014, 04:34 PM
Hello everyone, I'm Sam and I'm 14 years old from Southern Massachusetts. I'm new to detecting and have been detecting for around a year and a half, I do like to consider myself very dedicated to the hobby though.

I have managed a few good finds from a local cellar hole and some local parks, and even though I don't get out very often I'm always looking for new spots to hunt.

Here are some of the things I've found.

Digger Don
08-04-2014, 04:41 PM
Hello and Welcome to the forum. You have found some awesome coins. What kind of Detector are you using ?
Great job.

Isaac
08-04-2014, 05:49 PM
Hey Sam... welcome to the forum. That Liberty Cap Large Cent is incredible! :shocked04:

See you in a couple weeks!

coinnut
08-04-2014, 07:09 PM
Sam some beautiful finds there :clapping: I started detecting a little earlier than you did. Believe me you are hooked :lol: Congratulations and welcome aboard :thumbsup01:

del
08-04-2014, 07:47 PM
Hello Sam , its great to see some more "young bucks" into this hobby :cheering: It looks like you found a nice area to detect , those are some stellar finds :clapping::clapping:.
Welcome to the forum!!

Dan

coinnut
08-04-2014, 08:24 PM
Hey Sam is that a Russian 1812 2 Kopeks copper?? Also I'm taking a stab at your dateless Liberty Cap and saying it is a Gardner Liberty Cap and maybe a 1795. Basing that on the very flattened top of the cap, the distance from the hair to the letter R in Liberty and on the shape of the pointy bust by the cap pole end. Hopefully either of the Don's can chime in. I'm not betting the house on it:lol: but I will bet someone with real knowledge of large cents could tell you what variety it is. I'm assuming the back side is shot?

Tony Two-Cent
08-04-2014, 08:46 PM
Welcome to the forum, Sam! :waving:

Wow, you have found some really amazing coins! I would be dedicated to the hobby too if I had found oldies like that!