PDA

View Full Version : possible 1700's button?

rsarge1
09-24-2014, 10:39 PM
Hi I just found this button here in the Denver area and if I'm right it is dated to the 1700's by the shape of the shank the only cleaning I've done is with a tooth brush and soap and water, it seems to be one piece with a shield in the middle a crown on top and a lion on the left as well as a unicorn on the right, I was wondering if any of you experts know what it might be and how should I go about cleaning it, thanks

sarge

del
09-25-2014, 02:35 AM
Sarge real good close ups of the shank (from where its attached to the button and to the hole), the design and the area of where it looks corroded or opened up to see the actual metal type.

rsarge1
09-25-2014, 08:05 AM
I just have my camera on the phone but I'll see if I can get a better shot, I'm not good with taking pics LOL

OxShoeDrew
09-25-2014, 09:40 AM
Early 1700s according to this...but I don't know. http://www.bravodigs.org/artifact.html
Nice find!

rsarge1
09-25-2014, 11:20 AM
yes that is what I found also if this turns out to be 1700's it will be the oldest and neatest thing I've found lol thanks

del
09-25-2014, 05:59 PM
Sarge the British coat of arms or crest has the lion and unicorn design motif but like I said a real good clear close up can determine if it an authentic one or a close reproduction for civilian dress clothes. The things that will count are the button's composition , construction and front design.

rsarge1
09-25-2014, 07:14 PM
Sarge the British coat of arms or crest has the lion and unicorn design motif but like I said a real good clear close up can determine if it an authentic one or a close reproduction for civilian dress clothes. The things that will count are the button's composition , construction and front design.