PDA

View Full Version : Hello fellow MD'ers!!!

MoneyMan
12-01-2014, 09:36 PM
Hey guys, I'm new to the metal detecting hobby....like I've only watched videos of Metal Detecting:blush:
I'm looking to get a detector myself and have been debating between the two;
"Bounty Hunter QD2GWP Quickdraw II"
or
"Garret ACE 250"
Both are around the price range I'm looking to spend (or have santa buy me :lol:)
As far as what/where I would like to hunt.... Probably start off at parks/schools (hoping for some gold/silver jewelry) or maybe just some beach hunts/lakes.... any and all advice is much appreciated, or even if you guys have any recommendations on any other beginner detectors....

Happy Hunting!!

Tony Two-Cent
12-01-2014, 10:05 PM
Welcome to the forum, MoneyMan! Glad you joined us!

I can't tell you much about the Bounty Hunter but I know that many people have success with the Garrett Ace 250. It seems to be the most popular detector for people entering the hobby.

MoneyMan
12-01-2014, 10:10 PM
Thanks for the reply Tony Two-Cent!!! I am leaning more towards the Bounty Hunter only because it comes in a package deal. Includes pin pointer, headset, bag, and some other Misc items... Thanks again! I will keep your input in mind!

Full Metal Digger
12-01-2014, 10:20 PM
Welcome to the forum! I started with an ACE 250 and it only took me 19 months to find $1,500 worth of money and jewelry so I could buy an e-trac. A couple days ago someone posted a thread about a metal detector dealer who is going out of business and he is selling off his inventory at cost. He had some ACE 250s and other detectors too. Best wishes and HH, Dave.

MoneyMan
12-01-2014, 11:10 PM
Thanks for the input DaddyDigger.... I'll definitely check that out. HH

del
12-02-2014, 06:55 AM