PDA

View Full Version : Silver and ....

Snowy
08-11-2010, 04:35 PM
Joe and I both had the day off so we hit the water early. We never came home until 4 PM.

The 1940 Merc was my first dig of the day.The Buff nickel a short time after that. Then we moved on to another place I've no idea why, but Joe suggested it, so off we went.

I'm trying the aluminum foil trick on the Merc.

angellionel
08-11-2010, 05:23 PM
Good finds there, Donna. The merc should clean up well. That cannabis pendant is interesting. :cheesysmile:

Snowy
08-11-2010, 05:42 PM
Thanks. We'll see about the Merc. It's my first time trying this so I very well could end up ruining it, if that's possible with this process.
It's a 1940, so if I ruin it, I'll at least be able to see it and read it better. It's only going in a binder anyway.

When we got to the second place I was in the water less than 5 minutes and I was swarmed by kids. I looked up and I was surrounded by them.
I moved away so I had to walk on my tippy toes cuz I knew they couldn't go out that far. Their mother kept yelling at them to not go too deep.
When I finally came out I was swarmed again. &quot:grin:idja find anything? Junk and trash. Gues it doesn't work, then, huh. Yeah, if the stuff is there. but people throw trash in the water. Not good. (And with that, the children moved on.... and so did I, to another section of the beach.)

We were AWEFUL today! We couldn't stay out of the water. And when it was about time to come home, we wanted to go somewhere else.

So... here's the merc so far. Think I ruined it.

angellionel
08-11-2010, 06:10 PM
The merc looks okay to me. :confused: The process does not ruin the coin... it simply removes the sulfide. If the coin has pits, then those would show, of course, but your merc looks fine. It simply needs another treatment. :yes: