PDA

View Full Version : Shield w/Rays, Braided, More

OxShoeDrew
09-20-2016, 05:00 PM
Fri,Sat,Sun 90min hunts produced a bit of everything. I found my first shield with rays! I guess it's an 1867 although 1866s had rays too? I can't find any 1866 mintage numbers...but the 1867 mintage is just over 2,000,000 which is low.:thumbsup01: The coins were super deep 8-10 inches with the exception of the silver dimes, they were together at 5in. The shoe buckle frame is the largest I've ever dug! Must have been Big Foot! :lol:
I have reason to believe the braided is 1848 :) Thanks for looking!

Tony Two-Cent
09-20-2016, 05:12 PM
Wow, you're having a killer year, Drew! :notworthy:

The mintage of the 1866 with rays is a little over 14 million, so much more than the 1867 with rays. Very cool find, whichever year it is! :yes:

And I'm no expert on large cents, but I believe that one is a Matron Head so it's probably older than 1848. (For one thing it has a line under "One Cent" on the reverse, a dead giveaway.) Another great find!

Were these found in a park?

Congrats on the wonderful finds! :congrats:

del
09-20-2016, 05:23 PM
Very nice Nickle , anytime you can see "rays" on a shield its a good one !!:cheering:The large shoe buckle frames such as these are hard to find uncracked or broken because the metal was so thin , their arc or curve was so much and it caused a substantial amount of stress on the frames. great find

OxShoeDrew
09-20-2016, 05:25 PM
duh, I'm such a dope....you know why I got it in my head that it was a braided?... because when the dirt was caked on it I couldn't see the bust and I thought the diameter was small. So then and there I decided it was a braided. When I got home I started cleaning it and micro-focused on the date, not even glancing at the big picture. :crazy::lol:
I guess that rays is most like a 1866 then. Yeah, I'm still hitting the parks. I head back into the wood as soon as the ferns die down and these parks stop producing. Thanks Tony!