PDA

View Full Version : A Gimme!

RobW
09-27-2010, 08:12 AM
Been trying to lean my E-Trac.......still a guessing game, though George did give me some numbers to try to remeber, but I found them to be ball park numbers. I'd get a target, and think, oh great a silver!!! and dig and find a 70's memorial. Went to a new park, that I found on an 1920's map, on Saturday with a friend. Turned on the e-trac and within 4 feet of the car got a really cool and old lighter from probably the 40s or 50s. I though this is going to be great! Spent the next 4 hours digging clad. The ground was so hard and dry ( and yes George I did get a new shovel...a pointy one! lol) After a day of digging, my hands were raw...I'm an attorney, got soft hands crying01

Sunday, I wanted to go back to the park, but didn't want to go without a big gun (shovel), but other than the 4ft handle one I have didn't want to lug that around, so I had to wait till the hardware store opened so I hit a spot that has turned up some great old coins in the past where they have been doing some construction. Didn't turn up anything but a few modern lincolns, then I noticed that they had done some work in the median, so I still had abit of time, so I headed there just to see....made it about six feet then I noticed on top of the dry fresh dirt, right in plain view a large disc shape, I muttered to myself..no way.... ran the detector over it...sure enough a large copper right on top of the grounbd. Didn't even have to dig! Though it is so corroded I can't make it out, don't think it is a large cent, diameter too small. Trying to clean it to see if I can get any detail out.

Store opened, got my shovel, headed back to the park. Hit the same area again, still digging clad. So I went for a walk along the river. I found 2 wheats, 44 and 47. A few more hours and some more clad later, called it quits from the day. I'll be back... I know there's silver there...somewhere, unless Angel already got it. lol

HEAVYMETALNUT