PDA

View Full Version : Latest hunts. Sorry no pics yet.

zrickkid
10-14-2010, 08:17 PM
Well for the year I have seven silver coins and they all have different tales to tell. The first silver ever was a minty 1942 Mercury dime @3 in my local forest preserve. Second was a badly pitted and corroded 1953 Roosevelt dime @2 that was at a sidewalk tear out in Chicago. Third was a 1947 George VI Canadian dime @3, abandoned house site. Fourth was a 1953 Roosevelt dime @2 at a local park during construction for a new trail. The fifth was the easiest a 1943 P war nickel found on the ground of all places at the University of Illinois Chicago, where I work as an engineer. I found 80 coins that day for a total of $1.80 and all coins were ground scores right off the ground no digging involved. I also found a super sweet high quality firemans knife and 3 spoons the same way. The sixth coin was another very nice 1943 P war nickel @1. That was found at my local 1920s high school during construction for a new soccer/football field. Lastly today I found a total of 43 coins for a whopping $1.85 including a beautiful 1946 Roosevelt dime @2. This was at an old fieldhouse park.
The common theme is im only finding silver at construction sites and recent ground breaks. Ive found about 25 wheaties in my hunts including my oldest coin to date a 1915 Lincoln cent. I found my first dollar coin a 2000 Sacagawea last weekend. It was a neat find because it was at about 5 and on its side. I am good at deciphering on edge coins with my V3i so it was a good find.