PDA

View Full Version : Hello from Idaho

IdahoBob
01-10-2011, 02:48 PM
Newbie here. Semi-retired in Idaho. Looking to buy my first Metal Detector. :drool:

jkress
01-10-2011, 03:30 PM
Welcome aboard IdahoBob. thumbsup01

This is a great site with lots of great hunters and info. You should be able to get many of the answers you're looking for on a new detector purchase right here.

It's a fantastic hobby... as well as a very addicting one. :yes:

coinnut
01-10-2011, 03:42 PM
Welcome aboard IdahoBob :clapping: You are entering a great hobby. The thrill of finding long lost coins and relics is hard to describe. As for getting a brand of machine? You will get many different answers. Everyone has a favorite. So ask a lot of questions and take your time deciding on a machine. My #1 rule on picking a machine is: You must feel comfortable using the machine. It must feel good to you and not necessarily be the most expensive or complicated machine out there. Good luck and nice to have you here.

Carver
01-10-2011, 03:55 PM
Welcome Bob!! Tons of info here thumbsup01 thumbsup01 thumbsup01

del
01-10-2011, 04:15 PM
hello Bob and welcome to American Detectorist , as others have said do your homework and find out what kind of detecting you would like to do . then read up on the different types of machines all have their strengths and weaknesses , also joining a club in your area is a great way to learn and meet people really close to you that can help you hands on . please feel free to ask alot of questions Bob thats why we're here , to help and learn.

Dan

RaZR
01-10-2011, 04:47 PM
Welcome BoB!!! <:
Glad to see new detectorists showing up. Instead of just old guys from some other site. rofl
Just so you know most top of the line machines are kinda expensive. You may want to start with a less costly model and if you really get hooked on this hobby pay out the big $$$ for a better one later. Then you'll have a backup/loaner for a friend to hunt with you. thumbsup01

odave