PDA

View Full Version : What detector to buy?

IdahoBob
01-11-2011, 07:56 PM
So I need to choose a metal detector. Yes, I'm new to detecting, but I still want decent equipment. I'm a computer programmer (35 years) so I want one I can do a little programming with, if I can. That's why I like the specs on the ETrac. My budget for detector and necessary accessories is $2K. I'd hate to buy a lower priced one and gouge my budget. I have a sneaky suspicion I will really enjoy this. In my youth I used to drive around, pick up stuff out of people's garbage, fix/clean it up and take it to the swap meet to sell. Made about $200/week in high school (1970). I like free stuff, that is, free for the finding. Don't mind hard work. So, what should I buy?

giant056
01-11-2011, 08:11 PM
I've never used a Minelab but I do have the V3i which is Whites top VLF and there's plenty of bells and whistles on it. You can adjust it to fit your surroundings (type of soil etc), I used the MXT before the V3i but that's not digital like the V3i, the one that I owned before the MXT was whites first digital the Eagle. I make some great finds with mine and from what I've read the V3i and Etrac are about equal on performance.

Epi-hunter
01-11-2011, 08:23 PM
In my youth I used to drive around, pick up stuff out of people's garbage, fix/clean it up and take it to the swap meet to sell.

Yes, you're going to like the hobby very well :)

Since you are a programmer and you seem to be committed to the hobby, I would go for a top of the line machine. :) It really is personal preference as to which machine you choose.

Lots of info here, so read all you can, and please ask questions! There are many very experienced E-Trac and V3i users here. Don't forget to take a look at other brands (Fisher and Tesoro make great detectors). All of the top of the line machines are going to be programmable and customizable.

Beefcake
01-11-2011, 08:25 PM