PDA

View Full Version : Headphone Recommendations

applevalleyjoe
01-11-2011, 09:04 PM
I'm new to detecting and wasn't even aware that I would need headphones, though now it makes sense. I use AKG 501's and 701's for stereo 2-channel listening since I'm partial to symphonic, New Age, and Flamenco music and they are best suited for the highs found here. I use Beyerdynamics for TV and DVD's to get that lower boom. I amp both of these with a small high end portable digital amp. For ipod, iphone, and laptop computer disc music I use Etymotics...clear, separates sounds, has a bit of boom, and places you in the center of the stage.

What should I use for a MINELABS SAFARI? It appears that the top end ones (Gray Ghost, Killer Bees, etc.) are all about the same price. What differentiates them? Appreciate your input. Thanks.

coinnut
01-11-2011, 10:45 PM
Any of the upper price headphones are good. Some considerations are comfort and fit (ear cup size and materials used.) Other considerations are durability. I hunt the woods and use Gray Ghost model &quot:grin:eep Woods Comfort is OK, I hear some are better, but these are not that bad. Duribility is an issue with me, as getting caught on branches and stretching the cord are usual occurances for my type of hunting. These are a bit heavier duty than others I have seen. I don't think you are going to get the quality sound you are used to at home, but for detecting, you only need a clear signal at a comfortable level. Just some thoughts on it.

Lowjiber
01-12-2011, 07:50 AM
I swear by Killer B Wasps.

I'm an old MXT'er. If you've ever really hunted the MXT on the edge of insanity, you know how important a great headset is. None better than KB's...IMHO.

Here's the site for technical info: http://thrpro.com/ When you call, the owner's name is John Smith (swear to God). He's the most down-to-earth guy you'll ever talk to and will hook you up.

Jeff (or)
01-12-2011, 03:47 PM