PDA

View Full Version : Just out of curosity..

Jeff (or)
02-21-2011, 03:43 AM
I was wondering how many members here are having a hard time finding silver coins and/or wish they could find more? There are a lot of great people here that may be able to give some thoughts, hints, tips etc, that can help.

del
02-21-2011, 03:58 AM
wow Jeff your quite the night owl posting this late :sleepy: you a 3rd shifter too :dontknow:

the sites i usually detect are very old colonial sites and silver was a pretty rare thing to have back then but you do find it from time to time but the very old stuff is almost always spanish silver coins .

ec121connie
02-21-2011, 07:52 AM
I was wondering how many members here are having a hard time finding silver coins and/or wish they could find more? There are a lot of great people here that may be able to give some thoughts, hints, tips etc, that can help.

I'm relatively new to this hobby. Been at it for about six months now and have only found one silver coin. I have found quite a few silver rings, bracelets, watches and other stuff along with a fair amount of gold from time to time. Not doing bad on the Wheat Pennies either.

There are many detector folks in this town, huge club locally, so the parks and schools really get a workout. It's not for a lack of trying and the equipment is up to the task. I think it is just a case of the coil hasn't passed over any of those elusive coins yet.

BTW, if you have a jar full of pennies laying around here is a great idea for putting them to use on these cold winter nights.

Quite a few pages of examples are here ...
http://www.fincher.org/Misc/Pennies/

http://www.fincher.org/Misc/Pennies/Misc/2011-01-03-PierreLanimal1.jpg

wingmaster
02-21-2011, 10:28 AM