PDA

View Full Version : Total New-Bee here from Illinois

Tony Two-Cent
02-26-2011, 10:56 AM
Total newbie to this forum, but not to metal detecting. I started metal detecting with my dad in 1969 at age six. I got my own detector in 1981 and really did a lot of hunting up until 1998. I started out with a White's and bought a Fisher in about 1987. I had moderate success with the Fisher. I found a 1914-D cent in my own front yard when I lived in Champaign, IL. The oldest coin I've found is a Spanish One Real dated 1808. It's silver and about the size of a nickel.

My Fisher finally bought the farm in about 2000 and I haven't been detecting since then. Lately I have a strong urge to get back out there. I am currently looking to buy a new (or used) machine and have been researching what is available. There is a lot of information to process. Fisher, Garrett, Minelab, White's, they all seem to have well-respected machines. I am mostly interested in finding old coins. I have no problem purchasing a top of the line detector if it's really worth the extra money. I welcome any recommendations.

Hopefully in a few weeks I'll be sharing my recent finds.

This looks like a great place and I look forward to hanging out here!

Epi-hunter
02-26-2011, 11:05 AM
Hi, and welcome to the forum :) You are definitely not a newbie to the hobby!

I think that any recommendations you receive will be based on personal opinion, as the top of the line machines are all very good. I used a Fisher CZ3D for a couple of years but sold it and moved to the Minelab line. I really like my E-Trac now and wouldn't trade it for the world. :)

HH!

Angie

RaZR
02-26-2011, 11:08 AM
Welcome Tony!

SeabeeRon
02-26-2011, 11:53 AM
Welcome New-Bee from Seabee!! :rolleyes: I am out in California and hunt mostly on the beaches in the Santa Cruz area.

jkress
02-26-2011, 12:18 PM
Welcome to American Detectorist Tony. Glad to have you here. :clapping: