PDA

View Full Version : A couple more V3i questions

v3ikid
04-20-2011, 11:07 PM
I am still learning functions of the V3i and have more questions.

Modulation- Will turning this off make deeper targets sound off louder?
What are the advatages and disadvantages of running this off or on and what do the settings represent as far as the target goes?

Polar Plot- I messed with the polar plot when i first got the V but soon gave up on it to not overload myself until i got some time in with the machine. Now i'm ready to try to utilize this funtion as best i can. The problem i'm having is that where i'm testing it is in my trash infested yard. Now i have my negative numbers set to give no tone but accept the on visual.

When i use Polar Plot it seems like it hits on junk that makes no tone long before i can get the coil accross the good signal. Once Polar plot gives an indication on something it seems like it stays there and doesn't reset until i flip the switch back to the center position then flip it forward again, then it will rest.

Is there a setting i'm missing to make this work like it should? OR is it My trashy yard that is making it difficult to use?

I sure would like to figure this function out and make it workable enough to see if it will help enough to use it regularly.

Vito
04-21-2011, 04:08 AM
Hey v3ikid,

About modulation - Yes. If this feature is [ON] then deeper/smaller targets will be announced by less sound-volume. This can help to get a clue on how deep a coin sized target will be in the field before you take a view to the target visual ID meter (depth reading).
Shallow target = loud / deep target = low.

Means in the field a shallow foil reading can be more a foil as a deeper foil reading can be more a ring/jewelry. The magic words here are
>can be<. The best way to confirm is to dig the targets. And normally in a foil infested area you better dig the deeper targets.