PDA

View Full Version : Hi From Maine!

Downeastwaves
01-07-2010, 11:57 AM
Hi,

Newbie here from Maine, froze up solid around here right now, it will be fun to see digs for folks who can....I'm kinda active on the Metal Detecting Maine forum. Here's one of my favorite finds--right from the yard.

coinnut
01-07-2010, 12:05 PM
Hey, Welcome aboard. Is that button pewter?? If it is, it's in real nice shape. Colonial too. I've seen some of those Maine finds and I can't stop drooling :drool: You have some kind soil there. We're not frozen solid here, but close to it. So I guess I'll live in someone elses shoes for a while ;)

angellionel
01-07-2010, 12:08 PM
Welcome to the board! That button is an oldie, and held up nicely too. We look forward to reading about your hunts and finds this year. I wish you much success!

Downeastwaves
01-07-2010, 12:14 PM
I'm not sure what it is made of...our house is old, real old for around here, early 1800s. Eastport has some interesting history and this house as seen a lot of it including being located in MA, then under British rule then becoming Maine...I sure would LOVE to find one of those MASS Coppers!

Downeastwaves
01-07-2010, 12:15 PM
Welcome to the board! That button is an oldie, and held up nicely too. We look forward to reading about your hunts and finds this year. I wish you much success!

Thanks for the welcome and the forum!

coinnut
01-07-2010, 12:21 PM
From that angle it doesn't appear to be pewter. More like a Tombac button. If it reads higher on the machine it will be brass or copper, if it reads more like a shot gun shell, then it will probably be a Tombac button. Pewter will read lower that a Tombac (more like foil or slightly above). A Great find. Your place has lots of potential. I'd dig every iffy target there lol Would look like a war zone when I was done ;)

Downeastwaves
01-07-2010, 12:33 PM