PDA

View Full Version : When to dig on deeptargets or how to recognize them

vatos
05-24-2011, 04:00 PM
Hi Folks,

I have to same as a newbie i am very happy with the Etrac and it is a silverkiller.
Just have a questions for you :

Non deep targets: (always search in conduct):

They are given a very nice signal and a stable number (FE/CO)...... nice two way sound when sweeping the coil.
Had also two deeper coins with the same affect.

But i also hear noises , in which i am not sure if i have to dig.
These noises are not given a very nice signals, and the numbers are bouncing around my screen.
Also the depthmeter is given a deeper target but also bounces.
Are these false signals? How can i decide to dig on these sounds...sometimes they have one way sounds and sometimes two ways when sweeping over with the coil.
Main difference are the sound signals according to the less deeper targets.

Hope for your help guess i do not like to miss targets

Ty Arend

Dimeman
05-24-2011, 04:30 PM
Welcome to the forum,
As I haven't used a Minelab before but this should pertain to all detectors as they all basicly operate on the same transmit--recieve principal.

There are coins in the ground that could be at an angle--not flat and could cause a one-way good signal and choppy or bad on the other way passing the coil over the target. Also trash items very close to a good target could read the same way... a good tone then a bad tone. The target screen might even have the numbers jumping from one ID to the other. If the targets are not the same depth again you could get different depth readings there also.

I have had numerous signals just like that and have gotten both a good target and trash from the same hole.

Until you dig it and see the item, you never will know what is actually in the ground. There is a metal detector users old saying--- Dig it all !!

Tony Two-Cent
05-24-2011, 04:35 PM
Dig it all !!

This. thumbsup01

RobW
05-25-2011, 08:12 AM