PDA

View Full Version : Need help with probe/pinpointers

ArmyVetPaul
01-12-2010, 06:28 PM
I am new to MD and to this website and was wondering if anyone could give me a tip or two and help me make a decision I am stuck on. I have a Whites Spectra V3 and have a Sunray DX-1, I want to get a hand held probe/pinpointer as a back up and am stuck on either the Garrett Propointer or the Detectorpro PIstol Probe. Has anyone used both of these and can give some insight into which might be better to get. Any help will be much appreciated.........Paul

Humble Hunter
01-12-2010, 06:51 PM
I have no personal experience with either but I've read about both. The pistol pro is said to be superior in depth. You-Tube has a video on it.

randy
01-12-2010, 06:56 PM
I like the Garrett pro-pointer alot. Haven't used the other. The Garrett PP airtests 2.25 inches on a nickel. Built waterproof (so they claim) and is very rugged. Beeps faster as you get closer to the target. I believe the pistol probe is deeper, but I think too much depth can be a bad thing with a pinpointer.

Epi-hunter
01-12-2010, 07:02 PM
I have used neither that you mention but have read about both, and have used the SunRay probe on the DFX, V3, and Minelab detectors as well as several other handheld pinpointers. It might depend on why you are looking for a backup to the SunRay. I too have read good things about the Garrett, but that the DetectorPro goes deeper than most handheld pinpointers. But your SunRay should give you 2-3 inches, so depth might not be really what you're looking for. Between those two I would probably choose the Garrett.... but again, it might depend on what specifically you are looking for as a backup that is different than your SunRay.

wheresthegoodstuff
01-12-2010, 07:03 PM