PDA

View Full Version : Any thoughts on age?

bob_e99
06-20-2011, 07:44 AM
I was detecting in the woods pretty much away from anything (too nice a day to be indoors so I had to have the detector in my hands) and I found this buried pretty deep (about 10 inches). I'm assuming it's a buckle of some type but am curious if anyone can provide more information about it.

Thanks.
Bob

z118
06-20-2011, 07:57 AM
That is one nice buckle. I'm no expert but it look OLD to me. Hopefully one of the relic guys on the forum will chime in with their thoughts. Great dig!

As we discussed I'm more of a quantity over quality guy so I very much admire your ability to hunt and maybe only make one or two finds but possibly very good ones. I've always been all about a pocket full of finds even if its all just modern clad (which it usually is).

I can't wait to hear what the experts think of that buckle!

bob_e99
06-20-2011, 08:20 AM
Thanks Matt. The location where I found it was not a place where people frequented. No beer cans, pop tops, old bottles or other garbage which typically shows up in a dump site for trash or a drinking spot for teenagers. So based on that and the dept, I'm also inclined to think that it's old and I'm also hoping that someone with more knowledge will chime in.

RobW
06-20-2011, 10:43 AM
Nice buckle. Looks colonial to me.

del
06-20-2011, 12:34 PM
Nice buckle. Looks colonial to me.

good guess Rob :clapping: :clapping:

hey Bob you have a very nice and old shoe buckle it is the single pointed tongue and chape variety which makes it atleast 291 years old or older . its very rare to have a complete one as the inside parts (chape & tongue ) usually are rusted out or broken. your buckle can be acurately dated from the late 1600's to about the 1720's . a great find congrats again Bob .

question ... do the parts move freely or not :huh:

Dan

bob_e99
06-20-2011, 02:06 PM