PDA

View Full Version : Looking for Tennessee Volz

SCOTT JOHNSON
01-15-2010, 09:01 AM
New to this and I am currently in Iraq. I have been supporting our troops since 2003. When I come home on my next R/R I want to buy a nice metal detector and start detecting for lost items. Is there a great detector that can be used for land and water?

Thank you

Go Vols

RickO
01-15-2010, 02:13 PM
Welcome aboard Scott. Yes, there are a few good detectors that will work on land and in water... however, I have found that it is better to have one of each. Dedicated machines tend to do their one job very well, hybrids (IMO) tend to be a tad diluted. Good luck, HH RickO

del
01-15-2010, 02:25 PM
hello and welcome to the forum Scott , most water machines (actual water proof pulse induction) are great in the water and beach but are not designed and are very akward to use on land ( because they have no or little discrimination)but can be done and the better land machines (vlf), while there pretty good on the beach they arn't water proof . for these reasons most detectorists have one of each if they frequent the shores often .

Dan

coinnut
01-15-2010, 02:52 PM