PDA

View Full Version : Newbie - first silver!

BrunswickMd
07-07-2011, 08:38 PM
I'm new to this thing of ours - just bought an ACE250 less then two months ago - been pretty much just poking around my own yard with it - trying to figure things out. Posting a pick of representative finds - but tonight I dug my first silver! A 1912 Barber - haven't cleaned it up yet - just a minute of hot water and a few seconds of gentle tooth brushing (I'll head over to the how to clean section before doing more - knew enough from this forum not to rub it right out of the ground) but WHAT BLAST :peace: Hey I know it's no big deal for you ol timers (seen some of your posts) but this might actually get me motivated to branch out some and where there is one who knows...

Everyone - thank you for all the info and encouragement this forum offers - a great pubic service - especially you special people who host/run this - please keep up the good work - you all ROCK :happydance01:

Tony Two-Cent
07-07-2011, 08:46 PM
Hey I know it's no big deal for you ol timers

Trust me, a Barber Dime is always a big deal! That's a terrific find for anyone! Congrats! thumbsup01

I think maybe Angel's method for cleaning silver coins might help your dime. You can read about it here: http://www.americandetectorist.com/forum/index.php?topic=813.0

Good job on the successful hunt! :clapping:

whammy
07-07-2011, 09:13 PM
Finding a Barber never gets old. Congratulations on your first ( hopefully ) of many.

coinnut
07-07-2011, 09:17 PM
Nice finds :clapping: With finds like that from someone just learning, you are gonna do quite well in this hobby :clapping: :clapping: I second the cleaning method that Angel had posted. Your coin seems to have that type of tarnish that most cleaning methods will not take away without ruining the patina. I see you have a Great Seal Army button too thumbsup01 They started in 1902. Nice hunt!! I never get tired of finding Barbers lol They are always exciting to find.

BrunswickMd