PDA

View Full Version : metal detecting fields....

switch
07-18-2011, 03:15 PM
Hey everybody. I am new to metal detecting and am figuring out where I can go to detect...

Do any of you have any idea if it would be worth metal detecting a field while discriminating against all of the iron tractor garbage? Or would the reason to do it only be finding old tractor pieces and harness parts? lol

Thanks!

hunter1
07-18-2011, 03:30 PM
Dig were ever you can , with permission . I'v dug fields , people worked there and they lost stuff to. One time i dug and found tractor parts were they must have repaired it in the field. i found a tool. broken tractor partys and also silver coins that fell out of some ones pocket while working on the tractor, Some times i dig it all.

switch
07-18-2011, 04:30 PM
Dig were ever you can , with permission . I'v dug fields , people worked there and they lost stuff to. One time i dug and found tractor parts were they must have repaired it in the field. i found a tool. broken tractor partys and also silver coins that fell out of some ones pocket while working on the tractor, Some times i dig it all.

Thanks for the info. I have permission, the owner actually owns a ton of fields all surrounding me pretty much and I have permission to dig them all.

MassDirtFisher
07-18-2011, 05:12 PM
I find detecting fields can be very good places to hunt. Some fields have been worked for hundreds of years, where the farmers and workers lose many great things. You find old tractor parts and animal shoes too, But if you tweak your machine and you are patient great things will come from the soil for you. I work a few fields , but at the moment they are full of corn and hay. So until harvest Im patient, I wish you luck on your upcoming hunts. Remember.....Low and slow wins the race. The stuff in the ground has been there a long time, and isnt going anywhere until you unearth it. Happy Hunting!!!

switch
07-18-2011, 05:47 PM