PDA

View Full Version : Greetings from a Newbie

Lope_along
01-22-2010, 12:03 PM
Howdy All,

My handle is Lope_along, my name is Andrew, and I'm from northern Virginia.
Just wanted to introduce myself since this seems to be a really nice forum and
I'm looking forward to learning and sharing with others - although I don't have
much experience yet.

I just got into this hobby last summer with a White's DFX and now I'm trying to learn
my V3. It seems to be a great machine and although I'm no expert on either the V3
or the DFX I think the new one from White's is really going to take off in popularity
with the hobby. Previously, I have done some fossil hunting and gold prospecting
in virginia - with okay results. Considering the huge development across all of No.
Va., all three hobbies have the same challenge : Legal Access to productive ground.

My finds haven't been a lot so far but I learned a huge amount with help from some
fine folks at DFXonly that are now also members here. I did just get my 1st silver coin
last week. I'm very impressed with the need for research in this hobby as well as field work.
Both are a lot of fun for me. I look forward to a great 2010 for detecting!

Lope_along

randy
01-22-2010, 12:10 PM
Welcome from Chester County, PA. Also swinging the V3.

del
01-22-2010, 12:19 PM
hello Andrew and welcome to American Detectorist , great intro . yes access is a common challenge in our hobby but your in a very old and historic part of the country and i wish you great success on your endeavors and look forward to seeing you post some great finds. both machines you have are top notch , take your time getting familiar with them and it will pay off.

Dan

Epi-hunter
01-22-2010, 12:21 PM