PDA

View Full Version : Question for shallow water detecting?

396nova
10-04-2011, 03:48 PM
I went to a fresh water swimming beach this morning with my AT Pro, waders, long handle sand scoop, and floating sifter. Any one that does this regularly must have one heck of a strong right arm. I knew it would be hard swing in the water, but after 2 hours I was getting really tired. I was lucky and found 1 clad quarter and a bottle cap. I passed up a few iffy targets that were 6-8 deep, because I was having trouble digging that deep in the water, the holes kept filling back in. Can a hole be dug to an 8 deep target? What is the secret to digging that deep?

cdv
10-04-2011, 05:09 PM
396Nova water hunting is a learning experience for sure. My first attempt was about 2 hours also. My arm was killing me but after a few weekends in the water, I graduated to a week at the beach where I actually detected for close to 12 hours one particular day. Now, I did change up some with moving my control unit to my hip (not sure if that is possible with the AT) so if your control head is in the water it will definately add to the resistance of the water when swinging.

Not sure if what I do is proper or not but it works for me, I don't fight the water much trying to power through it swinging, I go really slow and that way I'm not pushing the water as hard which I think allows me to last longer in the water before the arm starts screaming.

As for the 8deep hole, I know it can be done but isn't easy cause as you found out they do have a tendency to fill back in. I have had some that I had to give up on never finding the prize in the hole.... I left envisioning a bottle cap with fins that would just swim off to the side each time I'd dig... it can be frustrating but oh the feeling when you see that yellow ring in the bottom of the scoop. I dig everything, that gold could be anywhere on the scale on a detector so I don't take a chance.