PDA

View Full Version : New to forum

silversearcher
11-22-2011, 12:28 PM
I am a resident of Western Mass. Was turned on to detecting by a friend of mine Al or as you know him aloldstuff'. He went with me to get my first metal detector. A Whites Prizm V. Funniest part, we went back to his house to set up the equipment and try it out. My first find was in his yard. There was no beep just a visual as I swept past a dollar bill at the edge of the yard! Now a days he picks on me cause I have a knack at finding Canadian items. Doing an old field with him I found a 1914 half dime (canadian). On another dig with him I found a sterling silver ring and a Canadian Distillery drink measure. Al dug a few silvers and an old belt buckle.
I hope to get my 12 year old son into it. He has a good friend that collects coins and occassionally like to crh. I enjoy reading the posts and hope to be able to post some nice finds myself. Cant wait to find my first lc or wlh. :cool:

aloldstuff
11-22-2011, 12:42 PM
Glad your here, great forum, good people with a wealth of knowledge. Now lets work on getting you and the little one out to find that treasure.

Everytime I make a decent find I have to tell Chris about it and his standard response is I really need to get out. :poke:

Looking forward to some hunting time together.

SeabeeRon
11-22-2011, 02:33 PM
Welcome from the West Coast!

396nova
11-22-2011, 02:44 PM
Welcome from SE Wisconsin. Al will be a great mentor. |:confused:) I look forward to your posts. :clapping: Mass. is a great state for detecting. Good luck.

silversearcher
11-22-2011, 03:06 PM
Welcome from the West Coast!
[quote=396nova link=topic=7935.msg90563#msg90563 date=1321991068]
Welcome from SE Wisconsin. Al will be a great mentor. |:confused:) I look forward to your posts. :clapping: Mass. is a great state for detecting. Good luck.

Thank you for the warm welcomes. Not so sure about the mentor thing as much as maybe a bad influence, but definitely a great friend... lol