PDA

View Full Version : Which detector - Help me!!

woodennickel
12-09-2011, 09:33 AM
I need help! I am new to the hobby, and somewhat technical minded, and I need help picking a new md. Santa is bringing me a new one. OK, I'm paying for it, but he is bringing it!

Being in the east, WVa, I will be going after the usual - coins, jewelry and relics.
And, after having studied and studied about metal detecting and metal detectors, I have decided on either a Tesoro Vaquero or Tejon. Both have excellent ratings and reviews, and both have features I like. It's too bad that manufacturers can't give you a menu to pick and choose which features you want, like buffet style.

So help me out, please.

I like the Vaquero's multiple frequencies and simplicity of use. It has the best reviews out there, and some people have said they prefer it over the Tejon.

On the other hand, I like the dual discriminators on the Tejon, and especially the VCO. Some reviewers complained it was unstable and had auto-tune probs and was mushy in mineralized ground. From what I have read however, I don't believe that mineralization will be much of a problem in West Virginia. My neophyte instinct tells me that perhaps setup causes some of these problems for some people.

The Tejon is a little heavier and takes several AAs, but I believe the weight difference to be negligible and I can afford to buy batteries if that is what it takes to run the thing.

Thanks for the help.

dave in iowa
12-09-2011, 05:16 PM
If you have the money buy a minlab e-track , best one out there

del
12-09-2011, 05:21 PM