PDA

View Full Version : Newbie Here!

mitchreid2000
01-18-2012, 10:58 PM
Hi Everyone

I live in Wisconsin and am planning on trying out metal detecting this spring it is something i have always wanted to do so i can't wait. If anyone has any tips on a good metal detector to start out with that would be great.

Thanks

Mitch

Epi-hunter
01-18-2012, 11:33 PM
Hi Everyone

I live in Wisconsin and am planning on trying out metal detecting this spring it is something i have always wanted to do so i can't wait. If anyone has any tips on a good metal detector to start out with that would be great.

Thanks

Mitch

Hi Mitch, glad you found us :) There are hundreds of folks here who have tons of metal detecting experience.

There are lots of questions to be answered before we can recommend a metal detector that will work for you and is what you want. Starting with two questions:

1) What is your budget?

2) Where are you interested in hunting/ what kind of finds are you interested in? (Old coins versus old relics; gold versus old silver coins, etc)

Welcome to the forum! |:cheering:

CODY
01-19-2012, 04:11 AM
Welcome from Mississippi. Looking forward to your post and finds.

mitchreid2000
01-19-2012, 04:40 AM
Hi Mitch, glad you found us :) There are hundreds of folks here who have tons of metal detecting experience.

There are lots of questions to be answered before we can recommend a metal detector that will work for you and is what you want. Starting with two questions:

1) What is your budget?

2) Where are you interested in hunting/ what kind of finds are you interested in? (Old coins versus old relics; gold versus old silver coins, etc)

Welcome to the forum! |:cheering:

I would say my budget is around $350 and i would be hunting in parks and old farmhouses/churches for old coins, silver/silver coins and gold.

Thanks for responding.

Mitch

POKIE73
01-19-2012, 06:56 AM