PDA

View Full Version : Birthday Silver

CODY
02-22-2012, 07:13 PM
Well I have noticed that several of the members have had birthdays the last several days. Today is mine. I will say only once that I turn 60 today. From now on I am 59! Lol. I spent the day hunting today. I went back to the property where I found the Morgan Dollar. I answered a question I was concerned about. I was wondering if I would get excited if I found a silver dime, after finding the dollar. The answer….YES! I searched the entire yard again. This time 90 degrees from last time. Found quite a bit of clad, 4 Wheats, 1944 and three that were toast. I did manage to find a 63-D Rosie. But my favorite find is this little key or watch fob. It has a special meaning for me. Meridian Ms. Is my home town. Before I was a police officer I was a firefighter for the City of Meridian. Went to work there in 1974. Retired a little over 20 years. The Meridian Fertilizer Co. started business in the late 1800’s. The factory was made of all wood. Huge timbers. Heart pine and oak. In the late 70’s it caught fire and burnt to the ground. Almost 100 years of this fertilizer soaking into the wood made it impossible to put out. We stayed there for several days. We firemen at the time called it “The fire from the bowels of hell” About the hottest fire I have ever been involved in. Gotta remember there was no air packs at this time. So when I dug this up, rubbed the dirt off, WOW did it bring back some memories.Its kinda cute too. Looks like a bag of fertilizer. The town I found this in is about 50 miles from Meridian. Anyway, thanks for looking and HH to all!

RaZR
02-22-2012, 07:29 PM
[size=1:crazy:t]Happy Birthday old timer!!

Congrats on the little silver on your day. And the fob looks pretty cool! I love finding old advertising stuff. Keep up the good work.

GL/HH

Tony Two-Cent
02-22-2012, 07:46 PM
Happy 59th birthday, Cody! thumbsup01