PDA

View Full Version : New Detectorist

bama in CT
02-23-2012, 10:20 PM
Hello, I just started detecting yesterday, I've never done it before...But I'm already hooked !In the last two days I have found some cool items. But I do not know what they are, can anyone help ? I know that I am lucky to live in one of the oldest towns in the country.All of this was found in the same little plot.

Ill Digger
02-23-2012, 10:55 PM
Hey bama in CT :groovy:
Welcome to the forum from the cornfields of Illinois! :grin: Glad you found us!
It's a great hobby! :yes: As you can already see! lol
Sorry I'm not going to be much help with IDing your mystery find. But it's very interesting :thinkingabout:
Maybe you should make a separate post in the What is it? section.

lee
02-23-2012, 11:37 PM
AHHHGGGGGG......post the bloody picture of the perfume botltle..ha ha ha ....mate you realy dont know how good a find that thing is.
ohh...welcom to the forum mate...

OxShoeDrew
02-24-2012, 05:09 AM
Hi Bama, sounds like you've already figured out that if you live in CT all you have to do is lower the coil and keepers jump out of the soil. :happydance01:. Well, maybe its not THAT easy but there are exciting things to find here in CT. That thing looks like a chunk of iron but I'm no professonal. Magnetic?
I used to find some hot rocks but they didn't look like that. Welcome from another nutmegger.

Lowjiber
02-24-2012, 06:13 AM
Welcome to your new addiction from southern Nevada.

I only saw one pic attached.

It might be a meteorite, but I doubt it. There are several tests that you can accomplish to determine if it is a meteorite or just a piece of iron.

The most important factor is the presence of nickel. Here's a link to get you started: http://meteorite-identification.com/streak.html

Good Luck and Happy Hunting.

aloldstuff
02-24-2012, 08:03 AM
Welcome to the forum and the madness from western MA. Glad to see you are already posting and looking forward to your future posts.

Fire Fighter 43