PDA

View Full Version : Civil War Buckle?

bob_e99
03-21-2012, 12:40 PM
I just found this today and it's pretty beat up. I think it's a civil war buckle but would appreciate it if someone could confirm it. I have to admit, I didn't think there were too many civil war artifacts in this neck of the woods (southern New Hampshire)

Thanks

aloldstuff
03-21-2012, 01:39 PM
I am by no means an expert, but I see the paw feet so I am saying it's a good find. Congrats on finding that.

del
03-21-2012, 01:42 PM
hey Bob , it is a waist belt plate . a regulation 1839 pattern , infantry enlisted 1863-1865 with the arrow belt hooks. congrats on a finding nice piece of civil war history :smitten: :smitten: , it not uncommon for us New Englanders to find Civil War items that were brought back home from the veteran soldiers returning from the war. it will be a great center piece for a display.

Dan

bob_e99
03-21-2012, 02:26 PM
Dan,

Saying thank you seems so inadequate. I sincerely appreciate the knowledge that you so willingly share and I definitely learned something about the civil war items in New England. It's too bad the thing is not in better shape but still a very interesting find.

Again, thanks for your assistance in verifying the object.

Bob

del
03-21-2012, 03:06 PM
your very welcome Bob , it was no problem at all :grin: as i really enjoy seeing relics such as this being recovered and preserved in displays , if only they could talk to us :daydream:. its a great piece and an item thats on my want to find list for sometime now :smitten: :smitten:. hopefully you can go back and find a few buttons off the uniform , it would be great to see them all together again after all these years. take care .

Dan

CODY
03-21-2012, 04:19 PM
Very nice find Bob. |:cheering: On my want list also. :clapping: Del is the MAN, no doubt! |:confused:) |:confused:). Congrats on a great find! thumbsup01

Fire Fighter 43
03-22-2012, 10:50 PM
Congrats on a great find. |:cheering:

Tinthumb