PDA

View Full Version : how deep are your holes

carl2112
04-20-2012, 11:42 AM
This might be kinda a dumb question. But I'm still pretty new at this. How deep and how big (in diameter) are your holes and do you ever just give up on a hole ? I find the pinpointer on my AT pro sometimes doesn't give me the most accurate spot to dig and other times I find my self opening up the hole wider and wider. I want to LNT when I metal detect but some of my holes tear the ground up so bad that impossible. And finally do you ever just give up on a hole either it was too deep or to hard to keep digging so you just call it quits. Sometimes my propointer goes crazy in the hole so I assume maybe there a drain pipe close by or that was even what I was hitting on my machine to begin with. I find my self not wanting to dig anything over 6 inches that's a little deeper then the one and only silver dime I found. But I've dug holes easily 12+ inches deep and always to find garbage. I'm just wondering what other more experienced hunters do ?

randy
04-20-2012, 01:32 PM
I'm careful not to tear up the ground, regardless of the size or depth of the hole. I use the same technique -- hinge plug, regardless of the size, but keep it as small as possible based on the depth of the target.

I give up on holes all the time, and fairly quickly. Its about efficiency and cutting losses for me. I may have missed a deep iron strongbox full of gold coins, but I'll take my chances on that one. Basically, I cut my losses when the target isn't as expected, based on what the detector was telling me before I dug. Targets beyond expectation are almost always large ferrous, but I've probably missed a few silvers as well. I'm betting an attitude of efficiency pays off in the long run.