PDA

View Full Version : CTX 3030 my thoughts after first hunt

Fire Fighter 43
06-02-2012, 06:20 PM
I would first like to comment on the physical side of the CTX. The construction of the CTX is as good as it gets. Minelab defiantly put a lot of thought into the design and materials. I have been using Doc's Swingy Thingy for several years now and honestly thought I would be using it for the rest of my detecting days. Early reports about the balance and feel of the CTX were that even though it weighed 5#'s it did not feel that heavy when swinging it. I had decided that I would try my first few hunts without the aid of the Swingy Thingy so I could make my own judgement on the weight issue. I honestly thought I would need to install it on the CTX so I had contacted Doc a week before I received the CTX to see what I needed to make it fit the larger shaft. Well after my first 5 hour hunt I can say I'm not going to install the swingy thingy. When you pick- up the CTX you can tell you have 5#'s in your hand but once you get it in the swinging position it feels great. The balance is perfect and I felt no fatigue in my shoulder or arm. With the Etrac I always felt like I was fighting the weight, that is not the case with the CTX. The rest of the detector is very well made. One thing I thought was kind of cheap was the clip holder for the wireless module, but after using it I do not see it being a problem. I also had some glare issues with the screen so I adjusted the back light and it was better. The day was cloudy so I'll have to see how it is in the sunlight.