PDA

View Full Version : T.H. on old maps?

OxShoeDrew
06-22-2012, 05:41 PM
Some of the 19th century maps that show family names sometimes have an abbreviation- T.H. Sometimes a family name is there too, sometimes just T.H. Does anyone know what this means. I worked a site that was just labeled T.H. this year. It looked like a normal cellar hole. Thanks everyone.

pulltabsteve
06-22-2012, 06:20 PM
Treasure hunt :grin:

Full Metal Digger
06-22-2012, 06:41 PM
Try posting a picture of what you are talking about. Might make it easier for someone to decipher.

OxShoeDrew
06-27-2012, 06:07 AM
The T. H. is seen after names, as on this pic, and all by itself. Thanks.

lee
06-27-2012, 06:18 AM
i see the letters s.h on the map as well , im no expert but could thy mean short house and tall house ? wild shot in the dark on my part.

del
06-27-2012, 08:12 AM
Drew , i've seen these as well and i've hearda few things , one was that . T.H. could stand for Town House meaning this home was agreed to be used as a meeting house for the area ( within that parish) locals in emergencies or to vote or decide on issues . the other i have more belief in is that T.H. stands for tavern house , lots of people that had a larger home and on main roads would convert their home into a bussiness like that , tavern and rooms to rent .

Lee S.H. definately stands for school house .

Dan

Full Metal Digger
06-27-2012, 06:41 PM
Drew, I look at lots of old maps online and we do not have the T.H. down here in Illinois. I'm assuming this map is out of an atlas? Try to find the contents and definitions page. The map is interesting because it only shows homeowner names but not property lines. I'm in agreement with the previous poster that it probably stands for town hall. HH, Dave.

OxShoeDrew
06-27-2012, 07:24 PM