Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: newbie post

newbie post

I have been detecting for about two years but had some health issues. Now I'm like most of the recent posts... when will the ground be soft enough. Have a DFX 950 and a Whites 6x10. Have searched a local park where I was stopped by a park ranger. I had heard the park was just starting to open up to detectorists, but only in one specific spot and only with a daily permit. The ranger was cordial and I stopped searching the area near a 150 year old "Insane Asylum" that was torn down. Looking forward to getting back to the park. Also enjoy beach hunting. No jewelry yet but some coins and locks.

Welcome from central Illinois!

Glad to have you here, brownbeardad! I guess the ground will thaw eventually, but I'm getting impatient. We're supposed to get 2" to 4" of more snow tomorrow night.

Best of luck to you and happy hunting!
    Lifetime totals:
    10 Large Cents, 415 Indian Heads, 2 Two Cent Pieces, 1 Capped Bust Half Dime, 1 Seated Half Dime, 10 Shield Nickels, 68 V Nickels, 124 Buffalo Nickels, 31 War Nickels, 16 Seated Dimes, 131 Barber Dimes, 405 Mercury Dimes, 249 Rosies, 4 Seated Quarters, 18 Barber Quarters, 20 Standing Liberty Quarters, 89 Silver Washingtons, 1 Seated Half, 3 Barber Halves, 16 Walking Liberty Halves

YouTube Channel: Tony Two-Cent https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCmz...RlHTBIU42bUORg

Welcome to the forum from northeast Massachusetts.
    Tom
    Oldest Pull Tab Found, Mid 1963!
    Coin Master-4D, Coin Master-GT, Spectra-V3i.
    Most reliable and accurate metal detector ever made: A Magnet...
    There is a tool for almost anything, however no one tool works for everything!

Welcome aboard brownbeardad from western MA. Hope you get a chance to get back and hunt some of that park.
    Finding relics is in my blood

GPX 5000, CTX 3030, E Trac, Vista Gold

Welcome from Washington state! Looking forward to seeing more of your posts.
    Land of Two Seasons - Snow and Fire Danger.