Thread: Whites V3I coil specs

Whites V3I coil specs

Because I'm an electronics tech with a curious mind I had to do a little investigating with my coils. This is what I've found.
    The Rx portion of the coils is on pins 1&2.
    The TX portion is pins 4&5.
    You can see the pin numbers if you use a magnifying glass.
    The resistance and inductance of the coils are as follows:

Eclipse 5.3
    RX= 30.8 ohms 14mH 40 Rings
    TX=3.3 ohms 561uH 19 Rings

Eclipse 4x6
    RX=50.9 ohms 15.6 mH 29 Rings
    TX=3.3 ohms 545uH 17 Rings

Eclipse DD 6x10
    RX=55.2 Ohms 14.0 mH 31 Rings
    TX=3.4 ohms 550uH 19 Rings

D2 Stock Coil
    Rx=44.1 Omhs 13.73 mH 32 Rings
    TX=3.3 Ohms 550uH 21 Rings

The rings is a "Q" test of the coils and is an indicator of shorted turns.
    As you can see the TX and RX of all the coils is similar both for resistance and inductance.

I was able to measure the inductance and "Q" with a Sencore LC103 test set I own.

This info should help anyone if they believe they have any coil problems.
    I'm assuming all my coils are good and from these results I think I can safely make this assumption.
    ACE 250 ATpro GTI2500
    V3I
    CTX3030
    Surf PI Pro
    Gabby

Huh?
    If I can't plug it into the wall, I don't mess with electricity. So most of that went right over my head.
    But, I know there's some members who will understand all of that.
    It's some great info! Thanks for posting it!
    Specially since I know Whites had some issues with their first batch of their D2 coils. This can be very useful for member who maybe having issues with their coils, and if they understand how to test it.
    Some days you get the corn, some days you get the cob
    ​Oldest coin: ​70 B.C. "Harlow Flyer" gold qtr. Stater
    Oldest U.S. coin: 1814 Capped Bust Dime

Great information Gabby! I don't think I have ever seen these specifications before. Were these all V-Rated coils?
    "Knowledge counts but common sense matters." ~ LouAnne Johnson