Thread: Garrett Pro Pointer vs. Sunray YF1

Elite Member

Garrett Pro Pointer vs. Sunray YF1

Need to buy a pin pointer. It seems a lot of people are using the por pointer. IS there any reasons why? Any suggestions between the 2? Other suggestions?
    2014 Goals: 20 Silver, 5 Large Coppers, 1 Gold Coin (not anticipating being able to detect much this year; NEW BABY HERE!!)
    So Far: (0) Silver; (2) KG, LC 1807; (2) IH; (3) Buff

2013 Total: 36 Silver; 5LC (including 1 FUGIO)
    2012 Total:101 Silver; 11 LC

Re: Garrett Pro Pointer vs. Sunray YF1

Hello Rob!

I have been a Sunray Probe user for the last 4 years or so. I really like the way they handle. That being said, I have been using the Garrett Pro Pointer now for about 6 months and I am finding that I like it much better than my DX-1 probe. My detector is lighter and more balanced now. I am getting the same depth with the proximity indicator working as well if not better than the VCO tone of the detector via the DX-1 probe. I originally bought the Pro Pointer for my Wife to use. After using it I got hooked on the precision of this little probe. If you are planning a detector upgrade soon or have more than one detector the Pro Pointer is the way to go.

Jack
    "Knowledge counts but common sense matters." ~ LouAnne Johnson

Minelab E-Trac - Whites Vision/V3 - JeTco GTX Huntmaster - Whites Bullseye TRX - Garrett Pro-Pointer

Elite Member

Thanks! Talk about a review, can't get any better than someone whose used both! Good points too after seeing and hearing what Angel is pulling up, thinking about upgrading detector soon. I think I can justify it since it paid for itself this season. It's just a matter of justifying it to the wife!
    2014 Goals: 20 Silver, 5 Large Coppers, 1 Gold Coin (not anticipating being able to detect much this year; NEW BABY HERE!!)
    So Far: (0) Silver; (2) KG, LC 1807; (2) IH; (3) Buff

2013 Total: 36 Silver; 5LC (including 1 FUGIO)
    2012 Total:101 Silver; 11 LC