Thread: Permission question

Permission question

Hey everyone! looks like a good site to be a part of. I'm very new to the detecting world, and love it. Eager to learn anything I can. I'm sorry if this question has been asked before, but I was just wondering about how you all go about asking for permissions to hunt. Do you have a certain line that you say, if knocking on a strangers door? I absolutely don't want to creep anyone out, and want to explain what I'm asking well. And also, do you guys ever tell people that you will give them all you find? or half? or don't mention it at all? Needing advice or pointers on how to approach someone that I don't necessarily know, to hunt their yard. Any thoughts or advice would be appreciated. Thanks everyone.

Moose
    Teknetics G2+

Hi Moose! Welcome to the group! I used the Tek T2 for years until just recently.
    As far as asking for permissions, the "Illinois gang" on our forum will chime in and let you know how it's done.

I only have to ask a few times a year as the properties are 50-100 acres around here. Personally I think asking permission is the worst part of our hobby. I dress up in work clothes, casual dockers, collar...then I tell the owner who I am (respected leader of our community ), then ask with the caveat I will give them everything I find. Nobody wants the things I find...some are interested in seeing the stuff but NOBODY wants it. Some say, "I got enough garbage" or "what am I gunna do with that?" Many people ask, "is it worth anything?" After I get permission I could show up literally 100 times over some years. Sometimes I become friends with the owner. That's the best part of our hobby! Good luck and look forward to hearing about your adventures!
    On Instagram- oxshoedrew

Hi Moose! Glad you joined the forum!

(Everyone, Moose is a good friend of mine so be nice to him! )