Thread: New guy from Albuquerque, NM

New guy from Albuquerque, NM

Hello all! My name is Kevin and not only new to the site but new to the sport. I am a c130 mechanic in the Air Force at Kirtland AFB. I wanted to find a new hobby that is cost effective, well after start up that is. I dont actually have a detector yet but thought this was a good place to start. Im gonna borrow a buddies MXT pro this weekend to get an idea.

Kevin

Re: New guy from Albuquerque, NM

Hello Kevin and welcome to the forum , are you a civilian just working on the base or a military man?? I hope those recent metal detecting shows on tv didn't convince you that we detectorists get rich from our hobby because the trueth is very few actually find a bit more than gas or extra battery money. lol lol It is however a very relaxing way to spend some time and maybe find some interesting coins and or relics. The mxt pro is a great machine and you might learn to love your friends detector lol lol. Again welcome and hope t hear from you soon .

Dan
    "Honesty is an expensive gift ,
    so don't expect it from cheap people"

XP Deus II , DFX ,TDI sl -

Click here to view my finds album

Kevin, welcome from western MA. My niece is the Air Force recruiter on Long Island. Hope you find some great items with your friends MXT.
    V3i- Prism IV- Pro Pointer
    2020 GOAL: Any Flowing Hair coin

TOTAL 100 YEAR OLD COINS - -280
    2020:
    Silver: 11

Oldest U.S. Copper - 1795 Liberty Cap
    Oldest U.S. Silver - 1829 Capped Bust Dime extra large 10C
    Click here to view my album

Welcome to the hobby and the forum from a guy who's spent many moons in a C130.

The MXT is a nice machine. Tip-of-the-morning: Keep the around 9, or lower, for your first few hunts.
    I've traveled a long way, and many of the roads weren't paved.

Quote Originally Posted by del link=topic=13570.msg143493#msg143493 date=1371531948